top of page
Search
Writer's pictureAshley Camille

Benefits of Aloe Vera + How to Repot an Aloe Vera Plant




 

Aloe Vera 🌱✨

The Plant of Immortality



 


Benefits of Aloe Vera


Aloe Vera is a very simple, yet powerful plant. Belonging to the succulent family, Aloe Vera is an extremely easy plant to take care of for a beginner and, in turn, can take care of your body from head to toe.


The plant consists of three layers: the outer layer which protects the inside of the plant; the second layer is a yellow sap; and the innermost layer is the Aloe Vera gel which is made up of 99% water.


It has earned its nickname "Plant of Immortality" from medicinal uses in Egypt, India, China, and in Native American tribes dating as far back as 3000 BC. It is said to be the plant that kept Queens Nefertiti and Cleopatra's skin glowing and flawless.

  • Skin : Enzymes and Vitamins within the plant's gel help to reduce skin inflammation, improve skin elasticity and creates a lasting natural glow. I have used Aloe Vera as a daily moisturizing mask and to heal inflamed breakouts.

  • Healing Properties : The gel also contains hormones which aids in wound healing. Aloe can treat burns, cuts/scrapes, and speed up the process of more aggressive wounds. When I was about three or four, I burned my arm on a hot oven pan and my great grandma put Aloe Vera gel on the burn. It completely healed and helped soothe the pain of the burn.

  • Digestive Help : The second layer of sap contains properties which makes it act as a laxative. It increases internal water content and mucus secretion.

  • Scientifically tested to aid in treatment of: Acne, Psoriasis, Dermatitis, Wound Healing, Burns, HIV infection, Type 2 Diabetes, Ulcers, Frostbite, Constipation, and Genital Herpes.


 


Repotting Aloe Vera


In the video you can see me repotting my Aloe baby. I decided to use an old candle that I got from Walmart as my new pot. I started by putting soil in the bottom of the jar to create a foundation. I then removed my Aloe from its original pot.


This was my first time repotting a plant so I didn't quite understand how the plant's roots and soil take the shape of its previous container. The new container I picked was a lot more shallow than the previous so I had to get a little creative with the repotting.


So if you are repotting an aloe vera plant or any other plant, be sure the new pot is noticeably bigger so that your plant baby can have room to fit and room to grow.


Fortunately, my aloe baby is still doing well in her new pot, however I will probably repot her within the next couple of months. You do not have to repot your plant often - only when you notice significant growth in height and number of aloe leaves.



 

More info on Aloe Vera can be found here:



17 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page